Informations
activities
CONTACT
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - Cercle blanc
  • YouTube - Cercle blanc
  • LinkedIn - White Circle

©Lavaux Patrimoine mondial 2019

 

 

 

 

By dint of patience and perseverance, humans have shaped the uncultivated, scrubby hillside for thousands of years. They have transformed this rugged terrain into a majestic landscape of terraces and vineyards. Over the course of this transformation, techniques have evolved, but the original principle of cultivating terraced vines remains unchanged.

Humans were able to adapt to this hostile environment by making use of the threefold abundance of the sun: that of the sky, the reflection of its rays on the lake and the night-time release of heat stored in the vineyard walls. And above all, they never failed to respect the natural conditions imposed upon them: breaks in the slopes, climactic barriers and a natural boundary situated at 600m above sea level- below this the vines thrive but above only forests and pastures can grow.

 

Two zones

These breaks in the slope are what form the upper limits of the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Lavaux. Establishing a site requires defining a perimeter. It is thus divided into two parts: a central zone that was the actual area nominated for inclusion, and a buffer zone surrounding it.


Facing the lake and the Alps, the central zone covers two districts, those of Lavaux-Oron and Riviera-Pays-d'Enhaut. It covers the territory of ten municipalities: Lutry, Bourg-en-Lavaux (which includes the former municipalities of Cully, Epesses, Grandvaux, Riex and Villette), Chexbres, Puidoux, Rivaz, Saint-Saphorin, Chardonne, Corseaux, Corsier-sur-Vevey and Jongny.

Winegrowers and farmers

The natural boundaries of the central zone are formed by Lake Geneva to the south, the forest and the break of the slope to the north, the Lutry valley to the west and the Vevey valley to the east. It is home to vineyards and winegrowing villages in its southern part, as well as several small woods. The buffer zone surrounds and protects the central zone. It is home to vineyards, woodlands and pastures, reminding us that winegrowers were, in earlier times, also farmers.

Source: "Description du Bien", in Lavaux, Vignoble en terrasses face au lac et aux Alpes, Dossier de candidature de Lavaux au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO, Cully, Janvier 2006, pp. 15-16.

The area listed for inclusion

GEA J.-M. Vallotton et T. Chanard 

©David Bochud Photographies / www.davidbochud.com

Informationen
aktivitäten
kontakt
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - Cercle blanc
  • YouTube - Cercle blanc
  • LinkedIn - White Circle

©Lavaux Patrimoine mondial 2019

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Durch Geduld und Hartnäckigkeit hat der Mensch sich über die Jahrtausende diese unbebauten und überwucherten Hänge zu eigen gemacht. Er hat diese wilde Topographie in eine majestätische Landschaft aus Terrassen und Weinbergen verwandelt. Im Laufe dieser Veränderung haben sich die Techniken sicherlich weiterentwickelt, aber das ursprüngliche Prinzip des Anbaus von Reben in Terrassen ist unverändert geblieben.

 

Die Menschen schafften es, sich an eine feindliche Umgebung anzupassen. Dabei nutzten sie den Reichtum, den ihnen die dreifache Sonneneinstrahlung verlieh: vom Himmel, die Reflexion der Sonnenstrahlen duch den See und die nächtliche Rückgabe der in den Mauern der Weinberge angesammelten Wärme. Und vor allem respektierten die Menschen die spezielle Lage der Gegend: den plötzlichen Übergang des Hanges, die Klimabarriere und die natürliche Grenze in 600 Metern Höhe. Unten gedeiht die Rebe. Oben sind Wälder und Weiden zu finden.

ZWEI ZONEN

Es ist der gleiche brüske Übergang, der die Obergrenze des Lavaux-Geländes bildet, das zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe gehört. Letzteres erfordert die Abgrenzung eines Perimeters. Derjenige des Lavaux besteht aus zwei Teilen: einem Kernbereich, der zur Eintragung in die Liste vorgeschlagen wurde, und einer sogenannten "Pufferzone" rund um das angemeldete Gebiet.

 

Mit Blick auf den See und die Alpen erstreckt sich das zentrale Gebiet über zwei Bezirke: Lavaux-Oron und Riviera-Pays-

d'Enhaut. Es umfasst das Gebiet von zehn Gemeinden: Lutry, Bourg-en-Lavaux (zu dem die ehemaligen Gemeinden Cully, Epesses, Grandvaux, Riex und Villette gehören), Chexbres, Puidoux, Rivaz, Saint-Saphorin, Chardonne, Corseaux, Corsier-sur-Vevey und Jongny.

 

WEINBAUERN UND LANDWIRTINNEN

Der Genfersee im Süden, der Wald und der Übergang des Hanges im Norden, das Lutry-Tal im Westen und das Vevey-Tal im Osten bilden die natürlichen Grenzen dieses zentralen Gebiets. Im südlichen Teil des Gebiets sind Weinberge und Winzerdörfer zu finden, ebenso wie einige Waldgebiete. Was die Pufferzone betrifft, so umgibt und vervollständigt sie die Kernzone. Sie beherbergt Weinberge, Waldflächen und Weiden und erinnert uns daran, dass die Winzerinnen und Winzer damals auch Bäuerinnen und Bauern waren waren.

 

Quelle: « Description du Bien », in Lavaux, Vignoble en terrasses face au lac et aux Alpes, Dossier der Kandidatur von Lavaux zur Aufnahme ins Unesco-Weltkulturerbe, Cully, Januar 2006, S. 15-16.

DAS GEBIET

GEA J.-M. Vallotton et T. Chanard 

© David Bochud Photographies / www.davidbochud.com