Informations
activities
CONTACT
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - Cercle blanc
  • YouTube - Cercle blanc
  • LinkedIn - White Circle

©Lavaux Patrimoine mondial 2019

Tourism and promotion

The Sustainable Tourism Programme, adopted in 2012 at the 36th session of the World Heritage Committee, states that "organized in a responsible manner, tourism can be a driving force for the preservation and conservation of cultural and natural heritage and a vehicle for sustainable development. Unplanned or poorly managed, however, it can disrupt social, cultural and economic life and have devastating effects on fragile environments and local communities.” Tourism is steadily increasing in the Lavaux and our association is committed to ensuring that tourism development emphasises a balance between preservation and development.

To this end, the proposals developed are always in keeping with the principles of outstanding universal value. Our association uses tourism as a way of raising public awareness and working to protect the landscape. Visits led by our heritage guides remain the most effective way to do this today. In 2017, more than 3,000 people learnt about the importance of respecting and protecting the region, which ultimately can have a real impact on local people and winegrowing families.

 

Our association makes it a point of honour to stimulate the wine economy, which owes its steadily improving results to tourism. More than 80% of guided tours end with a wine tasting, thus fostering an exchange between the public and winegrowers. LWH works mainly with certified "wine tourism" structures and aims to simplify contact between visitors and wine professionals. In collaboration with the Wine Commission (CVVL), our association coordinates various promotional events at both a regional and national level in order to provide support to locals and winegrowing families in the region. Through its network, it aims to help the renown and visibility of local wine-making structures.

©Jennifer Riva

©Patrick Bürgin

Management

The competent and sustainable management of the site is essential in order to preserve and promote the cultural landscape of the Lavaux. The management strategy is constantly evolving and adapting to all issues related to the protection of the site. This necessitates a balance between 4 poles: the environment, economic vitality, residents and heritage.

This balance is carefully preserved thanks to the scientific monitoring of the site. The association has therefore set up a privileged partnership with the University of Lausanne in order to follow the evolution of the Lavaux site as closely as possible. The data collected will also be used to adapt the management plan to the current context. This plan defines the strategy used for the preservation and promotion of the listed site. The aim of the plan is to provide a vision of the future of the region in keeping with the environment, the wine-growing economy, the residents and tradition, as well as being a reference document for the municipalities, the Canton of Vaud and the Confederation.  A review of the current plan, which dates from 2007, is currently ongoing.

In addition, our association is committed to maintaining quality relationships with involved parties and partners such as the Confederation, the Canton, the municipalities, the residents, as well as professionals in cultural and academic institutions and in the fields of viticulture, tourism, the economy. The Lavaux World Heritage site collaborates with all the key elements involved and, as such, has as unifying role and a panoramic vision of the life of the site. The association believes that the appropriate management of Lavaux must include all those affected by the site. It also maintains relations with other UNESCO listed sites in Switzerland and around the world.

Cultural mediation

Cultural mediation aims to promote understanding of the Outstanding Universal Value of the Lavaux landscape. Thanks to the various different projects and activities we organise, the public is becoming increasingly aware of the cultural wealth of the site and the importance of preserving it and passing it on to future generations. 

Temporary photographic exhibitions on winegrowers’ work over the seasons or displays of vintage photographs allow the public a new perspective on Lavaux. The Vign'nature Park was created with the aim of making visitors, whether children or adults, aware of the environment around them, putting the discovery of the vine, from the root to the fruit, at the heart of the experience. A wide range of themes are inspired by participation of the Lavaux World Heritage in events such as World Heritage Days or European Heritage Days.

Our association is committed to developing events and activities for everyone. We aim to raise as much awareness as possible of the universal nature of Lavaux by organising events and both temporary or permanent activities. We also guarantee quality scientific content by collaborating with specialists, so that we can truly claim to be a veritable laboratory of Lavaux knowledge. Likewise, Lavaux World Heritage offers the Lavaux Heritage Guides basic training by prominent specialists as well as constant ongoing training.

©Aurélie Moullet

Informations
Activités
Contact
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - Cercle blanc
  • YouTube - Cercle blanc
  • LinkedIn - White Circle

©Lavaux Patrimoine mondial 2019

promotion

Le programme sur le tourisme durable, adopté en 2012 lors de la 36e session du patrimoine mondial, mentionne qu’«organisé de manière responsable, le tourisme peut être un élément moteur de la préservation et de la conservation du patrimoine culturel et naturel et un vecteur du développement durable. Non planifié ou mal géré, il peut toutefois perturber la vie sociale, culturelle et économique et avoir des effets dévastateurs sur les environnements fragiles et les communautés locales » . Le tourisme a actuellement le vent en poupe à Lavaux et notre association s’engage à encourager un développement touristique maîtrisé qui assure un équilibre entre préservation et développement.

Pour ce faire, les offres développées sont toujours en lien avec la valeur universelle exceptionnelle. Notre association exploite le vecteur touristique pour sensibiliser le public et œuvrer à la protection du paysage. Les visites conduites par nos guides du patrimoine demeurent aujourd’hui le moyen le plus efficace d’y parvenir. En 2018, c’est plus de 3’000 personnes qui ont pu être averties de l’importance de respecter et protéger ce paysage, véritable outil de travail d'acteurs locaux et de familles vigneronnes.

Notre association met un point d’honneur à stimuler l’économie viticole et c’est par le biais de ce vecteur touristique qu’elle obtient aujourd’hui les meilleurs résultats. Plus de 80% des visites guidées s’achèvent par une dégustation, favorisant ainsi le dialogue entre le public et les vigneron(ne)s. LPm travaille principalement avec les structures certifiées « oenotourisme » et tend à simplifier la rencontre entre visiteurs et acteurs viticoles. En collaboration avec l’interprofession du monde viti-vinicole (CVVL), notre association coordonne différentes actions de promotion au niveau régional et national afin d’apporter son soutien aux familles vigneronnes et acteurs de la région. Au travers de son réseau, elle aspire à renforcer la notoriété et la visibilité des structures viti-vinicoles locales.

©Jennifer Riva

©Patrick Bürgin

Gestion

Une gestion compétente et durable du site est primordiale pour préserver et valoriser le paysage culturel de Lavaux. La stratégie de gestion évolue et il convient de l'adapter en fonction des menaces et des besoins liés à la protection du site. Celle-ci doit assurer un équilibre entre 4 pôles : l'environnement, la vitalité économique, les habitants et le patrimoine.


Cet équilibre est l'objet d'une attention très marquée grâce à un suivi scientifique du site. En effet, LPm a mis sur pied un partenariat privilégié avec l’Université de Lausanne afin de pouvoir suivre au mieux l'évolution du site de Lavaux.  Les données récoltées dans ce cadre serviront également à la révision du plan de gestion. Document de référence pour les communes, le Canton de Vaud et la Confédération, ce plan définit la stratégie de préservation et de valorisation du site inscrit et assure un avenir à la région en adéquation avec l’environnement, l’économie viticole, les habitants et le patrimoine.  Une révision de ce plan, datant de 2007, est actuellement à l'étude.


LPm s’engage à entretenir des relations de qualité avec les acteurs et partenaires comme la Confédération, le Canton, les communes, les habitants, les professionnels de la viticulture, du tourisme, de l’économie et institutions culturelles et académiques. Lavaux Patrimoine mondial collabore avec les principaux acteurs et consolide ainsi son rôle fédérateur et sa vision panoramique de la vie du site. L'association est convaincue qu’une gestion adéquate de Lavaux se doit d’intégrer tous les acteurs concernés par ce lieu. Elle entretient également des relations avec les autres sites inscrits auprès de l'UNESCO, en Suisse et dans le monde.

Médiation culturelle

La médiation culturelle vise à créer des ponts pour favoriser la transmission et la compréhension de la Valeur Universelle Exceptionnelle du paysage de Lavaux. A travers différents projets et actions mis en place, les publics prennent conscience de la richesse du site et de l'importance de le préserver et de le transmettre aux générations suivantes.

Des expositions temporaires photographiques sur le travail du vigneron au fil des saisons ou encore sur des photographies anciennes présentent Lavaux sous un regard nouveau. Le Parc Vign’nature a vu le jour dans le but de sensibiliser le visiteur, qu’il soit enfant ou adulte, à l’environnement qui l’entoure et de mettre au cœur de l’expérience la découverte de la vigne, de la racine au fruit. Diverses thématiques sont développées à travers des événements tels que les Journées du Patrimoine mondial ou les Journées européennes du Patrimoine.

Notre association s’engage à développer des offres pour les différents publics concernés. Au gré d’événements, d’offres ponctuelles ou permanentes, elle vise à sensibiliser autant que possible au caractère universel de Lavaux. Elle garantit également un contenu scientifique et de qualité, en collaborant avec des spécialistes afin de pouvoir se positionner comme véritable laboratoire de connaissances de Lavaux. De même, Lavaux Patrimoine mondial s’engage à former ses Guides du Patrimoine de Lavaux en proposant une formation de base dispensée par des spécialistes de renom ainsi que des formations continues pour approfondir leurs connaissances.

©Aurélie Moullet