#Lavaux

LAVAUX PATRIMOINE MONDIAL

Vineyard listed as a UNESCO World Heritage site

The terraced vineyard of Lavaux was added in 2007 to the UNESCO World Heritage of Mankind list.  For more than 1000 years, humans have taken over and transformed this land into the biggest continuous vineyard in Switzerland.  Nearly 180 families still grow its native grape variety, chasselas, make some of the best wines in Switzerland, work the 450 km of heritage walls and the more than 10 000 terraces which make this cultural landscape the exceptional site you see before you.

Guided tours in Lavaux

The Lavaux World Heritage association and its qualified guides can offer you personalised visits all year long and public visits from May to October.

Visiting Lavaux with a qualified guide is a dramatic and inspiring experience.  Leaving from typical little winegrowing villages, you make your way through sumptuous landscapes with a unique atmosphere, while learning what it is that makes this place so exceptional, and why it is listed as a World Heritage of Mankind site.

Visite guidees Lavaux UNESCO (c)David Bochud Photographies.jpg
© David Bochud 
 
Maison Lavaux COVER (c) William Gamutto Sàrl - Elsa Mesot.jpg
© William Gamutto sàrl

Visit Maison Lavaux

Immerse yourself in the human and cultural history at the heart of the Lavaux site, a terraced vineyard, a UNESCO World Heritage site.

The many facets of the Maison Lavaux exhibition will inspire you and surprise you.


Learn about the history, the main landscapes, the issues around protecting Lavaux and many other aspects of this spectacular region.

 

Taste the wines of Lavaux

The wine growers of Lavaux welcome you and invite you to discover the fruits of their labour in the magnificent vineyard of Lavaux.

Discover Chasselas, this exceptional grape variety born on the steep slopes of Lavaux.  Other surprises await you in the many cellars, vaults and wine tasting locations, which will all throw their doors open to you.

Dégustation-c-DavidBochud.jpg
© David Bochud 
 
 
7a4c2b_8fc4903e4f284a7893bd855813db47e2~mv2.jpg

LAVAUX WORLD HERITAGE ASSOCIATION 

Since 2013, the Lavaux World Heritage association (LPm) has made great efforts to preserve, enhance and ensure a coordinated development of the site “Lavaux, terraced vineyard”.

The preservation of the exceptional terraced vineyard of Lavaux and maintaining its position on the list of UNESCO World Heritage sites is the result of major consistent day-to-day work on the part of all bodies and Lavaux stakeholders.  LPm strives to collaborate, coordinate and guarantee the preservation of the site for, but also with future generations. 

Lavaux listed as a UNESCO World Heritage site 

Lavaux has been listed since 2007 as a UNESCO World Heritage site.

On the 22nd September 2007, the whole region celebrated Lavaux being listed as a UNESCO World Heritage site.


It all began in 2003 with an approach made to the Confederation and to ICOMOS, with the objective of applying to have Lavaux listed as a UNESCO World Heritage site.  


After being considered at a national level, the application was approved by the Confederation.  Accordingly, the Association committee for listing Lavaux undertook major work in order to put together the bid package and answer the principal questions justifying this recognition.   


The area listed straddles two districts: Lavaux-Oron and Riviera-Pays-d’Enhaut.  It extends over ten communes: Lutry, Bourg-en-Lavaux (which includes the former communes of Cully, Epesses, Grandvaux, Riex et Villette), Chexbres, Puidoux, Rivaz, Saint-Saphorin, Chardonne, Corseaux, Corsier-sur-Vevey and Jongny. 

Become a member of the association

Join a network of committed stakeholders.  Participate in the future of the vineyard and its activities and help to preserve and maintain the tangible and intangible treasures of Lavaux.

By becoming a member, you will be informed about the activities and publications of the Lavaux World Heritage association.  You will be able to contribute your ideas and opinions at the General Assembly or on other occasions.


From CHF 50 per annum, participate in the preservation of a living cultural landscape and in the development of harmonious interaction between the inhabitants of Lavaux and their environment.

#Lavaux

Lavaux patrimoine mondial

Vignoble inscrit au Patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO

Le vignoble en terrasses de Lavaux a été inscrit en 2007 par l’UNESCO sur la liste du Patrimoine mondial de l’Humanité. Depuis plus de 1'000 ans, l’Homme s’est approprié et a transformé ce territoire pour en faire le plus grand vignoble d’un seul tenant de Suisse. Près de 180 familles vigneronnes cultivent encore à ce jour son cépage indigène, le chasselas, vinifient parmi les meilleurs vins de Suisse, entretiennent les 450 kilomètres de murs patrimoniaux et les plus de 10'000 terrasses qui font de ce paysage culturel le site exceptionnel qui se présente devant vous.

Visites guidées en lavaux

L’association Lavaux Patrimoine mondial et ses guides certifiés vous proposent des visites personnalisées toute l’année et des visites publiques de mai à octobre.

Visiter Lavaux avec un guide certifié est une expérience spectaculaire et enthousiasmante. Au départ des villages vignerons typiques de Lavaux, vous parcourez des paysages somptueux à l’atmosphère unique tout en apprenant ce qui rend ce lieu si exceptionnel et a permis son inscription au Patrimoine mondial de l’Humanité.

Visite guidees Lavaux UNESCO (c)David Bochud Photographies.jpg
© David Bochud 
 
Maison Lavaux COVER (c) William Gamutto Sàrl - Elsa Mesot.jpg
© William Gamutto sàrl

Visite de Maison Lavaux

Immergez-vous dans l'histoire humaine et culturelle au coeur du site Lavaux, vignoble en terrasses, Patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO

L'exposition de la Maison Lavaux va vous inspirer et vous surprendre par ses multiples facettes. 

Parcourez l'histoire, les principaux paysages, les enjeux de la protection de Lavaux et bien d'autres facettes de cette région spectaculaire.

 

Dégustez les vins de Lavaux

Les vigneronnes et vignerons de Lavaux vous accueillent pour vous faire découvrir le fruit de leur travail dans le magnifique vignoble de Lavaux.

Partez à la découverte du chasselas, ce cépage exceptionnel né dans les pentes abruptes de Lavaux. D’autres surprises vous seront également proposées dans les nombreuses caves, caveaux et lieux de dégustation qui vous ouvrent leurs portes.

Dégustation-c-DavidBochud.jpg
© David Bochud 
 
 
7a4c2b_8fc4903e4f284a7893bd855813db47e2~mv2.jpg

ASSOCIATION LAVAUX PATRIMOINE MONDIAL

Depuis 2013, l’association Lavaux Patrimoine mondial (LPm) s’emploie à préserver, valoriser et assurer un développement coordonné du site « Lavaux, vignoble en terrasses.

La préservation de l’exceptionnel vignoble en terrasses de Lavaux et le maintien de son inscription au Patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO est le fruit d’un travail conséquent et quotidien de toutes les entités de et concernées par Lavaux. LPm s’emploie donc à collaborer, coordonner et garantir la préservation du site pour mais aussi avec les générations futures.

Inscription de lavaux au patrimoine de l'unesco

Lavaux est inscrit depuis juin 2007 au Patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO

Le 22 septembre 2007, toute la région a célébré l'inscription de Lavaux au Patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO.

 

Tout avait commencé en 2003 lors d'une démarche engagée auprès de la Confédération et de l'ICOMOS en vue du lancement de la candidature de Lavaux pour son inscription au Patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO.

Après évaluation au niveau national, la candidature a été retenue par la Confédération. Dès lors, le comité de l'Association pour l'inscription de Lavaux a entamé un travail important pour réaliser le dossier de candidature et répondre aux principales questions justifiant cette reconnaissance.

Le périmètre inscrit se trouve sur deux districts: ceux de Lavaux-Oron et de Riviera-Pays-d’Enhaut. Il s’étend sur le territoire de dix communes : Lutry, Bourg-en-Lavaux (qui comprend les anciennes communes de Cully, Epesses, Grandvaux, Riex et Villette), Chexbres, Puidoux, Rivaz, Saint-Saphorin, Chardonne, Corseaux, Corsier-sur-Vevey et Jongny.

Devenez membre de l'association

Intégrez un réseau d'acteurs engagés. Participez à l'avenir du vignoble et de ses activités afin de préserver et entretenir les trésors matériels et immatériels de Lavaux.

En devenant membre, vous êtes informés des activités et des publications de l'association Lavaux Patrimoine mondial. Vous pouvez donner vos idées et vos avis lors de l'Assemblée Générale ou à d'autres occasions.

Dès CHF 50.- par année, participez à la préservation d'un paysage culturel vivant et au développement d'interactions équilibrées entre les habitants de Lavaux et leur environnement.